TONY EVERS, Governor

MATT JOSKI, Chairperson Interoperability Council

# **WISCOM Subcommittee Meeting**

March 22, 2023 12:30 pm

# Meeting held via TEAMS

### **FINAL MEETING MINUTES**

- 1. Meeting Convened by Chairperson Kesler at 12:30 pm.
- 2. Roll call: Quorum was established with 13 of 22 members present.

Members present: Joseph Baasch, Patrick Deethardt, Grant Hones, Keith Hurlbert, Keith Kesler, Christopher Lehner, Dan Miller, Logan Milton, Chris Reynolds, Tim Slater, Jan Victorson, Dan Weber, Logan Zinsli.

Members excused: Kirk Gunderson, Marshall Ogren, Torre Peterson-Waldvogel (deployed). Members absent: Darren Chappuies, Steven Fenske, Tim Halbach, Katherine Johnson, Tyler Tuttle, Ben Warrington.

3. Meeting Minutes:

Review and Approval of the January 25, 2023 meeting minutes

Motion to approve the January 25, 2023 meeting minutes as presented by Sheriff Miller, seconded by Logan Zinsli. Motion carried.

4. Public Comment:

There was no public comment.

- 5. Old Business:
  - A. Questions received concerning WISCOM upgrade Keith Kesler.

Local departments continue to wonder about timetable for WISCOM developments.

B. WISCOM Outreach - Keith Kesler

A meeting was held with Bayfield County Sheriff, Chief Deputy and Emergency Management related to communications planning. Following that a meeting was held with Ashland County Sheriff, Chief Deputy and Communications Supervisor specific to Ashland County moving to WISCOM. Erik Viel from OEC and Keith Kesler and Jan Victorson from the WISCOM subcommittee participated in those meetings. The two counties are considering a move to a joint dispatch center, call taking and dispatching for both counties.

#### 6. New Business:

# A. WISCOM RFP Update – Erik Viel

The RFP (Request for Proposal) process was reviewed beginning in 2017. Contract negotiations are currently taking place between OEC and L3Harris.

Timeline to implementation is projected to be 5 to 7 years. The RFP requirements were reviewed. There will be specific outreach to daily use counties.

The power point outlining RFP requirements are attached to these minutes.

# B. OEC Update - OEC Staff.

Meridith presented WISCOM system data for the last six months. Consistently in the top WISCOM sites for airtime are Parkland (DG), Superior (DG) and Hayward (SW).

New users include;

Merton Fire
Poynette Fire
New Chester Fire
Platteville PD
Village of Cottage Grove
Cloverland Public Works
Vaukesha County
Columbia County
Adams County
Grant County
Dane County
Douglas County

#### C. NEW MEMBERS – Keith Kesler

Welcome to new members: Grant Hones, Wisconsin Department of Corrections (DOC) and Chris Reynolds, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources (DNR).

#### D. Member Terms - Keith Kesler/OEC Staff

Subcommittee members whose terms will soon expire will receive an email from OEC. 03-25-2022 – Dan Weber and Kirk Gunderson 05-27-2023 – Joseph Baasch, Keith Kesler, and Jan Victorson Current subcommittee members do need to reapply. Include as agenda item for next meeting.

# E. FFP (Forest Fire Protection) Grant – Keith Kesler

Kesler expressed concern that the radio specs for the FFP grant does not promote purchase of digital/trunking radios. It is difficult to promote purchase of digital (WISCOM capable) radios to locals when state agency does not promote. Consider increased funding if digital radios purchased.

# F. PUBLIC OFFICIALS TRAINING - Keith Kesler

The Wisconsin Public Records law and Ethics for Pubic Officials is mandatory training for subcommittee members annually. Please take note and complete as soon as possible.

# G. SCIP GOALS

A work group has been formed to begin development of tasks assigned to the WISCOM Subcommittee.

H. Future activities.

Eric Viel will invite L3Harris to make a presentation at the next WISCOM Subcommittee meeting.

7. Future Agenda items:

Please contact Keith Kesler (khkbrule@yahoo.com) with agenda items for the next meeting.

- 8. Next meeting The next meeting is scheduled for May 25<sup>th</sup>, 12:30 meeting time. Location to be determined.
- 9. Adjournment

Motion made by Joe Baasch, seconded by Sheriff Miller, to adjourn the meeting. Meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, Jan Victorson